My Biggest Issue With Any Work (NSFW)

I write a lot of articles for a hockey website and see this most often among other media types, but it’s prevalent in fiction as well.  As you would imagine, those that contribute sports articles professionally, be they to a newspaper or a magazine, typically need to exhibit some sort of restraint in regards to their language so that it may be consumed by a wide audience.  To put it simply; not swearing so the soccer moms don’t get uppity.  Those of us that write on the internet do not follow that rule and likely never will.

This has led to some of the people I see on a regular basis discounting work that contains swearing of any kind.  There is certainly a level of ‘too much’ with anything, but swearing can be very effective and does have a purpose in writing, if for no other reason because…people swear…a lot.  These words are part of our vernacular and unless you live in complete seclusion, you cannot go a day without encountering them.  And because sometimes nothing else can quite convey the emotion of a moment like a well placed shit, or fuck, or ass, or cunt, or whatever your favorite may be.

I hate euphemisms.  I hate them in real life and I hate them in fiction just as much.  I hate all manner of lies, and while we’re hating, I hate taboos too.  I hate anything that works against how people actually live.  I think I’ve written sex scenes in every single one of my novels.  Do you know why?  Because people fuck!  They masturbate and they give handjobs and they suck dick and they fuck and fuck and fuck.  To me, it makes no sense to encounter a character and not see them do any of these things.

It gets frustrating when you read and write a lot of teen and young adult fiction like I do to see the most perfect and idealized of characters polluting any work.  Even the great ones like J.K. Rowling and Suzanne Collins (which as an aside, those books are among the most violent of any I’ve ever read, how is that better than including any sex?) barely touch upon things that real young adults are doing.

I strive for a certain level of honesty in the things I write.  I’m constantly asking myself, ‘is this something a real person would say?  Is this something a real person would do?’  Obviously I bend the rules a little bit because truly accurate and lifelike fiction is boring as hell, but I want readers to put down my works thinking they read something that contained real people.

About Alex

I am awesome.

Leave a Reply

