Alexander Bauer Author – Going Live

My new author page, hosted on WordPress, is now live!  We’ll go through all the appropriate questions, slightly out of the usual order:

Who?

My name is Alexander Bauer.  I was born in Buffalo, NY, grew up in Buffalo, Rochester, and Syracuse, and now live in Redmond, WA.  I’ve been making things up in my head ever since I was a little kid, and writing them down since I was about 15, starting with awful poetry, moving on to awful short stories, and progressing to (hopefully) not awful longer fiction.

Growing up on TV shows like Star Trek, and video games like Starcraft and Diablo II, my main interests are fantasy and science fiction.  As a member of the LGBT community, a member of the BDSM community, and a generally progressive thinker on sex in general, these things inevitably seep into my writing.  I like characters that are contradictions and protagonists that have a bit of a dirty side.  My writing is always, always driven by the characters.  They decide what happens.

What?

My primary focus is on longer fantasy, romantic, erotic, and science fiction.  But in between novels, I do tend to work on smaller things like short stories and poems.  Peep the published ones in the fly-out menus at the top of the page.  (Note: Most of my short stories are available for free on Smashwords.)

I will also be breaking them up with updates on whatever I’m working on, ideas I have, and thoughts on writing in general.

Why?

I got sick of having to link to multiple sources for my work.  Kindle’s Direct Publishing center gives me the most visibility, but it also limits who (Kindle owners) can read my books.  That’s where Smashwords, which offers something like eleven different e-Reader formats, comes in.  I wanted to get everything in one spot, where I could tell people, “go here, and however you want to consume fiction, you’ll be able to do it.”  Thus, the author page was born.

I also have a lot of thoughts on writing itself and no real place to put them.  I think it’s better for me to be open about the creative process as I work on a large project rather than disappear for three months and then pop out with a new novel.  Hopefully it will work to get people excited about my upcoming work as my traffic grows.

When?

I write a lot.  If you only consider my published fictitious works and discard my blogging and poetry, I’ve written around 250 words a day, every day, for the past four years.  When I’m working on a novel, 1,000-5,000 words a day is the norm, and as many as 30,000 words a day is not out of the question.  (The last half of Arnett Tanner Wants to Die was written in one day, ~32,000 words.  Skankarella (~63,000 words) was written in four days.)  I think about writing all day, every day, so blog entries will probably be pretty frequent.  Although when I am bingeing (binging?) on writing, I tend to disappear.

Where?

Right here.  And also the links in the fly-out menus at the top.

How?

Okay, so this is a selfish one to answer, but so be it.  How do I come up with my ideas?  It’s never the same thing twice.  Sometimes I have a plot point in mind (The Chosen, Arnett Tanner Wants to Die), sometimes a particular character (Kissing Ellen King, the in-progress, awfully titled ‘Nymph Story‘), and sometimes just a word (Skankarella).  Hopefully my sporadic entries as I write will provide some illumination as well.

About Alex

I am awesome.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Alexander Bauer, Author

Leave a Reply

